News
© Stadt Wien
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

“People need variety and options”

Jul 16, 2021

A year with unexpected twists and turns lies behind us. In some ways, this Corona crisis has hit "reset" in many areas. Managing Director Martin Russ sums up the challenges and opportunities that have arisen as a result.

Russ Martin, © Huger/AustriaTech

2020 has shaken up the world. How would you describe this year for mobility?

The pandemic has turned mobility behaviour on its head. Old and new ways of doing things have collided. New heights have been reached in walking and cycling, while at the same time the use of public transportation has decreased considerably. Communication could not allay people’s fears. This has led to a return to old patterns: when the virus is a danger lurking outdoors, a private vehicle has once again become an apparently safe space. This clearly demonstrates the urgent need for new services on the one hand and, on the other, for us to come together and have an earnest discussion. We have to fundamentally integrate mobility into our living environment and take concrete action accordingly.

Where do you see the greatest need for action?

We need evidence instead of gut decisions. The coronavirus has shown this to be true in every field. It is crucially important to have data, but also to interpret it and find relationships. This is also the case when it comes to actively managing the much larger crisis: we can only fight climate change with targeted, common action in every area of our lives in the economy. Mobility is the area that can do the most to help people move towards a climate-neutral life, especially because it is so clearly visible and accessible for everyone.

Where, for example?

The issue of space distribution is now discussed more intensively than we would have thought in the recent past. Changes in mobility behaviour lead to a changing use of public space and increased quality of life. The street has become a living space. This is especially evident and striking in cities, which have become the centre of change. By altering the way we distribute space, we can create more room for sustainable mobility infrastructure, for example.

Here, you’re speaking about e-mobility, among other things.

Yes, we saw a boost in e-mobility in 2020, which will continue into the future. We should take care, however, not to see electrification as a panacea. An electric car is, at the end of the day, still a car. It spends an average of 23 hours per day in a parking spot and only transports one person. E-mobility makes an important contribution, but is not the sole driver of clean mobility. A full package is necessary; people need variety and options. And they want to get moving in a more environmentally aware manner. Options like the 1-2-3 ticket are timely in this regard.

Will new options like this be well received, in your opinion?

You have to communicate, discuss options, bring people with you on this journey. The coronavirus has shown our adaptability to new situations, and that we can stick together and do good together. My prognosis for the field of mobility is that we are a resilient society, change is tolerable for us. We can work well with changes. We should take advantage of this in our policy and in measures we enact.

Yet ultimately, mobility providers and producers also need to make a living. Will they still be able to in the future?

Change naturally offers opportunities for businesses. But the business models need to be sustainable. A turning point is a true process of change at every level, beginning with one’s mindset. We are going to need ideas, technology and a variety of services. We don’t want to get in the way of value creation, but rather to reimagine it – for example, with new services that add value. That will require us to test, test, test. Try things out, learn, keep working at it. Promote an understanding of digitalisation and start by learning about the system as a whole.

Digitalisation is a driver, then.

Digital transformation provides agile, effective support for changes in mobility. Yet to take advantage of it, we need to connect sectors of society more closely together and think about what our workplace looks like in the future. What about our leisure time? Tourism? Shopping? Mobility has to be part of the experience. The measures we enact can then be much more coordinated, and we will have a better handle on their effectiveness. They can also be communicated in an understandable, transparent manner.

How can AustriaTech contribute to this journey?

To extend your metaphor, we are an experienced tour guide. We can guide the way towards achieving mobility change and towards more environmentally friendly daily routines. Ultimately, the goal remains for us and our children to be able to lead self-determined lives.

More information

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Stadt Wien
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

„Menschen brauchen Vielfalt und Optionen“

16.07.2021

Ein Jahr mit unerwarteten Wendungen liegt hinter uns. Diese Corona-Krise hat in gewisser Weise in vielen Bereichen auf „Reset“ gedrückt. Geschäftsführer Martin Russ resümiert über Herausforderungen und Chancen, die sich dadurch ergeben.

Russ Martin, © Huger/AustriaTech

2020 hat die Welt gehörig durchgerüttelt. Wie würden Sie dieses Jahr für die Mobilität beschreiben?

Die Pandemie hat Mobilitätsverhalten auf den Kopf gestellt, neu und alt sind aufeinandergeprallt. Zu Fuß gehen oder Radfahren hat Höhenflüge erreicht. Gleichzeitig ist die Nutzung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln drastisch zurückgegangen, die Kommunikation konnte die Angst nicht nehmen. Das hat zu einem Rückfall in alte Muster geführt. Wenn draußen das Virus als Gefahr lauert, wird der eigene PKW wieder zum vermeintlich sicheren Raum. Das zeigt, wie sehr es einerseits neue Angebote und andererseits ein Miteinander, einen Dialog auf Augenhöhe braucht. Wir müssen Mobilität ganz grundsätzlich in unsere Lebensumwelt einbetten und dabei konkret ins Tun kommen.

Wo orten Sie den größten Handlungsbedarf?

Wir brauchen Evidenz statt Bauchentscheidungen. Das hat Corona in allen Bereichen gezeigt. Daten, aber auch ihre Interpretation und ihre Zusammenhänge sind das Um und Auf. Auch, um die noch viel größere Krise aktiv zu managen: Den Klimawandel können wir nur durch gezieltes, gemeinsames Handeln über alle Lebens- und Wirtschaftsbereiche hinweg bekämpfen. Mobilität ist DAS Thema, das die Menschen am stärksten zu einem klimaneutralen Leben bewegen kann. Vor allem, weil es für jeden Einzelnen so deutlich sichtbar wird.

Wo zum Beispiel?

Das Thema Flächenverteilung wird jetzt viel intensiver diskutiert, als wir es vor kurzem noch gedacht hätten. Ein verändertes Mobilitätsverhalten führt zu einer anderen Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums und zu mehr Lebensqualität. Die Straße wird zum Lebensraum. Gerade in der Stadt kann man das sehr plakativ erfahrbar machen, deshalb rücken Städte ins Zentrum des Wandels. Durch eine Umverteilung der Flächen schaffen wir mehr Platz, zum Beispiel auch für die Infrastruktur von nachhaltigeren Mobilitätssystemen.

Damit sprechen Sie unter anderem die E-Mobilität an.

Ja, 2020 haben wir einen Boost der E-Mobilität gesehen, der sich weiter fortsetzen wird. Hier müssen wir aber Acht geben, Elektrifizierung nicht als Allheilmittel zu sehen: Auch ein E-Auto ist letztlich ein Auto, das aktuell durchschnittlich 23 Stunden am Tag parkt und nur eine Person transportiert. E-Mobilität ist ein wichtiges Service, aber nicht der alleinige Antriebsstrang für saubere Mobilität. Ein Gesamtpaket ist nötig. Die Menschen brauchen Vielfalt und Optionen. Und sie wollen verstärkt umweltbewusst unterwegs sein. Angebote wie das 1-2-3 Ticket kommen da zur richtigen Zeit.

Werden neue Angebote wie dieses aus Ihrer Sicht auch gut angenommen?

Man muss kommunizieren, sich austauschen über die Möglichkeiten, und die Menschen mitnehmen auf diesem Weg. Corona hat unsere Anpassungsfähigkeit an neue Umstände gezeigt und auch, dass wir in der Lage sind, zusammenzuhalten und gemeinsam Gutes zu tun. Im Bereich Mobilität ist meine Diagnose: Wir sind eine stabile Gesellschaft, Veränderung ist uns zumutbar. Wir können nämlich gut mit ihr umgehen. Das sollten wir uns zunutze machen, in unserer Politik und den Maßnahmen.

Aber letztlich müssen die Mobilitäts-Anbieter und Produzenten auch Geschäft machen. Wird sich das in Zukunft noch rechnen?

Natürlich bietet Veränderung der Wirtschaft Chancen. Aber auch Geschäftsmodelle müssen nachhaltig werden. Eine Wende ist ein echter Change-Prozess, auf allen Ebenen, angefangen beim Mindset. Wir werden Ideen, vielfältige Angebote und auch Technologie brauchen. Wir wollen nicht Wertschöpfung kürzen, sondern neu interpretieren. Zum Beispiel mit neuen Services, die Wert schaffen. Dafür müssen wir testen, testen, testen. Ausprobieren, lernen, weiterentwickeln. Verständnis für die Digitalisierung wecken und überhaupt erst dieses umfassende System lernen.

Digitalisierung ist also ein Treiber.

Digitale Transformation ist ein agiler, effektiver Helfer der Mobilitätswende. Dabei müssen wir aber gesellschaftliche Sektoren viel stärker miteinander vernetzen und überlegen, wie schaut unsere Arbeitswelt, die Freizeit, der neue Tourismus, das Einkaufen in Zukunft aus? Mobilität muss Teil des Erlebnisses werden. Unsere Maßnahmen lassen sich dann viel stärker aufeinander abstimmen, und wir wissen besser über ihre Wirksamkeit Bescheid. Das lässt sich dann nachvollziehbar und transparent kommunizieren.

Welchen Beitrag kann die AustriaTech auf dieser Reise leisten?

Wir sind ein erfahrener Tourguide, um bei diesem Bild zu bleiben. Wir sind ein Wegbereiter, um die Mobilitätswende zu erreichen und den Alltag umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten. Das Ziel ist und bleibt letztlich, dass wir und auch unsere Kinder ein selbstbestimmtes Leben führen können.

Weitere Infos

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.