News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Regulating traffic using UVARs

Nov 24, 2020

UVARs - Urban Vehicle Access Regulations - support the promotion of sustainable mobility measures and regulate traffic flow in urban and regional areas.

These vehicle access regulations can be one of the most effective levers to achieve goals such as climate neutrality, the reduction of traffic jams or the improvement of air quality, public transport or the quality of life in Austria.

According to Urban Access Regulations, UVARs are measures to regulate the access of vehicles to infrastructure. This means that access to certain areas is restricted by defined zones. The most frequently defined areas are:

  • Environmental areas (e.g. IG-L)
  • City toll
  • Access and passage restrictions (e.g. motorway exit ban in Tyrol)
  • Short-term parking zones
  • Pedestrian precinct

Further regulations can be achieved e.g. via fees. Vehicles then have to pay to enter a certain area or to travel within a certain area. These can be e.g. parking fees or road tolls.

Digitize UVARs

Currently, UVARs are not yet consistently defined or applied worldwide. Moreover, data on UVARs is rarely available in digital form. For an outsider - tourists, for example - it is often difficult to know local parking regulations and take them into account. For this reason, digitally available information on the currently valid UVARs is needed. Ideally, this data could be recognized and output by any standard navigation device so that road users can behave in a UVAR-compliant manner.

"UVARs open up new possibilities for mobility control by allowing access to polluted areas to be dynamically regulated. It is important that the restrictions are published widely - in addition to traffic signs and publication in newspapers, digitalisation enables better distribution e.g. in navigation and route planning systems. Since road users need reliable information about these regulations, UVARs should be made available to everyone in digital form using European standards," explains Martin Böhm, Business Unit Manager at AustriaTech.

 

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Verkehr mithilfe von UVARs regulieren

24.11.2020

UVARs – also Urban Vehicle Access Regulations – unterstützen die Förderung nachhaltiger Mobilitätsmaßnahmen und regulieren den Verkehrsfluss im urbanen und regionalen Bereich.

Diese Zufahrtsbestimmungen für Fahrzeuge können einer der wirksamsten Hebel sein, um Zielen wie Klimaneutralität, die Verringerung von Staus oder die Verbesserung der Luftqualität, des öffentlichen Verkehrs oder der Lebensqualität in Österreich zu erreichen.

UVARs sind laut Urban Access Regulations Maßnahmen zur Regulierung des Zugangs von Kraftfahrzeugen zur Infrastruktur. Das bedeutet, dass die Zufahrt zu bestimmten durch definierte Zonen beschränkt wird. Die am häufigsten definierten Bereiche sind:

  • Umweltzonen (z.B. IG-L)
  • City-Maut
  • Zu- und Durchfahrtsbeschränkungen (z.B. Autobahnabfahrtsverbot in Tirol)
  • Kurzparkzonen
  • Fußgängerzonen

Weitere Regulierungen können z.B. über Gebühren erreicht werden. Fahrzeuge müssen dann für die Einfahrt in ein bestimmtes Gebiet oder die Fahrt innerhalb eines bestimmten Gebiets bezahlen. Das können z. B. Park- oder Straßenbenutzungsgebühren sein.  

UVARs digitalisieren

Aktuell werden UVARs weltweit noch nicht einheitlich definiert oder angewendet. Daten über die UVARs gibt es zudem selten in digitaler Form. Für eine/n Außenstehende/n – TouristInnen beispielsweise – ist es oft schwer z.B. örtliche Parkregulierungen zu (er)kennen und entsprechend zu berücksichtigen. Daher braucht es digital vorliegende Informationen zu den jeweils gültigen UVARs. Im Idealfall könnten diese Daten von jedem gängigen Navigationsgerät erkannt und ausgegeben werden, sodass VerkehrsteilnehmerInnen sich UVAR-gerecht verhalten können.

„UVARs eröffnen der Mobilitätssteuerung neue Möglichkeiten, indem der Zugang zu belasteten Gebieten dynamisch geregelt werden kann. Wichtig ist hierbei eine breite Veröffentlichung der Beschränkungen – neben Verkehrsschildern und Veröffentlichung in Zeitungen ermöglicht hier die Digitalisierung eine bessere Streuung z.B. in Navigations- und Routenplanungssysteme. Da die VerkehrsteilnehmerInnen zuverlässige Informationen über diese Regulierungen benötigen, sollten UVARs allen auch in digitaler Form mittels europäischer Standards zur Verfügung gestellt werden.“, erklärt Martin Böhm, Business Unit Leiter bei AustriaTech.

 

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.