News
© Shutterstock
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Transport research with 98 years of experience

Jan 15, 2019

AustriaTech starts the new year with a lot of motivation. By attending the Transport Research Board (TRB) in Washington D.C. we enter the dialogue with experts and researchers worldwide.

Washington D.C with it's highways and city in the background

 

The conference focusses on the aspect of research, which could according to TRB be the key to the continuous improvement of traffic. Around 13.000 participants are expected to attend the annual conference at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. This year's TRB pays atenttion on "Transportation for a smart, sustainable and equitable future". In addition to numerous presentations by representatives from politics, research and industry, TRB also offers extensive workshops for the participants. The TRB programme includes contributions on all modes of transport and focuses on discussions about the future of sustainable, intelligent and equitable mobility.

Did you know…?

Mobility is a big challenge in many cities around the world. However, the implementation of automated vehicles in urban traffic systems offers great potential. In public and especially in urban areas, there is often a lack of experience on how to implement automated driving in practice. Washington D.C. is taking a big step forward and is testing the use of automated vehicles in selected city districts in cooperation with Ford.The aim is to demonstrate the opportunities and challenges of automated mobility. As a result, the test areas should be expanded and spread into the city center of Washington D.C..

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Did you also know that…

  • …Washington D.C. has, following New York City, the most highly frequented subway system in the USA?
  • …underground tunnel systems run under the Capitol in Washington, which were originally used to get employees and politicians to work quickly and easily, especially in bad weather?

Transport Research around the globe

The TRB has been held for around 100 years and is the US-American equivalent of the relatively young European Transport Research Arena (TRA). After last year's TRA in Vienna, the next TRA in 2020 will be held in Helsinki and goes under the slogan "Rethinking transport - towards clean and inclusive mobility". The "Call for Submission" for the TRA 2020 is already open and abstracts and papers can be submitted until April 30th. Detailed information can be checked on the TRA 2020 website.

More information



This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using our website, you consent to the use of cookies. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Verkehrsforschung seit 98 Jahren im Fokus des TRB

15.01.2019

AustriaTech startet motiviert in das Jahr 2019 und stellt sich mit dem Besuch des Transport Research Boards (TRB) in Washington D.C. dem Dialog mit ExpertInnen und ForscherInnen weltweit.

© Shutterstock

 

Im Vordergrund steht dabei vor allem der Forschungsaspekt, der laut TRB den Schlüssel zur kontinuierlichen Verbesserung des Verkehrs darstellt. Rund 13.000 TeilnehmerInnen werden unter dem Motto „Transportation for a smart, sustainable and equitable future“ bei der jährlich stattfindenden Konferenz im Walter E. Washington Convention Center erwartet. Neben zahlreichen Präsentationen von VertreterInnen aus Politik, Forschung und Industrie werden auch umfangreiche Workshops für die TeilnehmerInnen angeboten. Das Programm der TRB umfasst Beiträge zu allen Verkehrsmodi und legt den Fokus auf Diskussionen rund um eine nachhaltige, intelligente und gerechte Mobilität der Zukunft.

 

Wussten Sie schon…?

Das Thema Mobilität stellt in vielen Städten weltweit eine Herausforderung dar. Großes Potenzial bietet jedoch die Implementierung von Automatisierten Fahrzeugen im städtischen Verkehrssystem. Im öffentlichen und insbesondere im städtischen Raum fehlt jedoch oftmals Erfahrung, wie sich automatisiertes Fahren in der Praxis umsetzen lässt. Washington D.C. macht diesbezüglich einen großen Schritt vorwärts und testet in Kooperation mit Ford den Einsatz von automatisierten Fahrzeugen in ausgewählten Stadtbezirken. Damit soll aufgezeigt werden, welche Chancen aber auch Herausforderungen die automatisierte Mobilität mit sich bringt. In Folge sollen die Testgebiete ausgebaut werden und sich bis in den Stadtkern von Washington D.C. ausbreiten.

Wussten Sie außerdem, dass…

  • …in Washington D.C. nach New York City das hochfrequentierteste U-Bahn-System in den USA verläuft?
  • …unter dem bekannten Kapitol in Washington unterirdische Tunnelsysteme verlaufen, die ursprünglich dafür genutzt wurden, die MitarbeiterInnen und PolitikerInnen vor allem bei schlechtem Wetter schnell und einfach zur Arbeit zu bringen?

 

Transport Research rund um den Globus

Das TRB wird seit mehr als 100 Jahren veranstaltet und stellt das US-amerikanische Pendant zur noch recht jungen europäischen Transport Research Arena (TRA) dar. Nach der letztjährigen TRA in Wien, wird die nächste TRA im Jahr 2020 unter dem Motto „Rethinking transport – towards clean and inclusive mobility“ in Helsinki ausgetragen. Der „Call for Submission“, also die Ausschreibung für die TRA 2020, ist bereits geöffnet und Beiträge und Papiere können ab sofort bis 30.4. eingereicht werden. Detaillierte Informationen können auf der Website der TRA 2020 nachgelesen werden.

Weitere Infos

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können.